Header for US Department of Transportation Blog

You are here

USMMA faculty, staff earn Maritime Administration awards

USMMA faculty, staff earn Maritime Administration awards

Graphic of the U.S.M.M.A. sealCongratulations to the faculty and staff here at the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY.  Their achievements this year--honored last week at the annual Maritime Administration awards ceremony--are a testament to the continued improvements being carried out every day at the Academy.

I want to particularly recognize two individuals who earned the 2013 Maritime Administration Excellence in Customer Service Award.

Peter DeJesus was recognized for exhibiting extraordinary daily commitment and dedication to providing the highest level of security for the faculty, staff, and midshipmen of the USMMA. Keeping everyone as safe as possible on a college campus is no easy task, and we all appreciate Peter's effectiveness.

John McCormick was recognized for extraordinary commitment and dedication to providing the highest level of maintenance and repair services. John's efforts to keep Kings Point shipshape are exactly what a community like ours needs, especially since revitalizing our facilities is such a big part of our strategic plan.  His work goes hand-in-glove with the major repairs taking place across campus, from replacing Mallory Pier to refurbishing Delano Hall, whose galley had not been updated in more than 60 years.

Photo of the bell at Kings Point

Four groups from the Academy were acknowledged with team awards:

  • Maxiflex Planning team
  • T/V Kings Pointer Vessel Conversion team
  • Government Shutdown team
  • "Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers" Curriculum team

Photo with birds-eye view of the Kings Point campus

Also last week, U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx honored three individuals from USMMA during the Secretary's 46th Annual Awards Ceremony:

  • Rick Sager of the Department of Health Services was awarded a Silver Medal for Meritorious Achievement;
  • Carol Finegan in the Office of Professional Development and Career Services was recognized with an Excellence Award; and
  • Osvaldo Jorge in Office of the Chief Financial Officer was recognized with an Excellence Award.

The dedication of the entire USMMA faculty and staff is felt far beyond the walls of the Academy, and I hope you'll join me in thanking them for their service.

RADM James. A. Helis is Superintendent of the U.S Merchant Marine Academy.

Post new comment


Congratulations to the recipients !! However, since Kings Point is an educational institution, I am surprised that no professors/educators received awards. Why ?
todd_solomon's picture

Fred, thanks for asking! Teaching faculty were indeed represented on the team awards. Below are the team award recipients, and I'm sorry they were not included in the initial blog post. You can also find a comprehensive listing of the awardees on the USMMA website at http://www.usmma.edu/about/communications/usmma-faculty-and-staff-receive-numerous-awards-acting-maritime-administrator The USMMA Maxiflex Planning Team was recognized for providing extraordinary commitment and dedication in adapting the government’s Maxiflex time scheduling policy to the needs of the Merchant Marine Academy. Dr. Gabriel Colef, Professor, Marine Engineering Ilene Kreitzer, Counsel to the Academy Andrew Green, Head, Department of Human Resources Dr. Michael Melcer, Professor Math & Science The T/V Kings Pointer Vessel Conversion Team was recognized for extraordinary teamwork in converting a replacement vessel to train young men and women as United States Merchant Marine Officers in a cost efficient manner. CAPT Eugene Albert, Head Department of Shipboard Training CDR Christopher Gasiorek, Director of Waterfront Activities The USMMA Government Shutdown Team was recognized for extraordinary commitment and dedication during the 14-day government shutdown at USMMA. Dr.Gabriel Colef, Professor, Marine Engineering CDR Preston DeJean, Assistant Academic Dean Joe Escoto, Assistant Chief Finacial Officer for Academy Operations Andrew Green, Head, Department of Human Resources RADM James Helis, Superintendent Lisa Jerry, Registrar CAPT John "Jay" Kennedy, Commandant of Midshipmen Ilene Kreitzer, Counsel to the Academy Dr. Shashi N. Kumar, Academic Dean Dr. Michael Melcer, Professor, Math and Science The USMMA STCW* Curriculum Team was recognized for extraordinary commitment and dedication toward educating licensed merchant mariners and leaders at USMMA. CAPT Eugene Albert, Head, Department of Shipboard Training CAPT Elwood Baumgart, Associate Professor, Marine Engineering Dr.Jane Brickman, Professor of History Professor Michael Ales, Associate Professor, Marine Engineering CAPT Michael Murphy, Professor, Marine Transportation CAPT David Palmer, Professor Marine Engineering CAPT William Sembler, Head, Department of Marine Engineering CAPT Steve Treacy, Academy Training Representative CDR Kelly Curtin, Assistant Professor, Marine Transportation Sean Tedesco, Head Swimming Coach Dr. Charles Weber, Professor Math & Science Ms. Lisa Jerry, Registrar Ms. Maribeth Widelo, Assistant Registrar CAPT Tim Tisch, PhD, Associate Professor, Marine Transportation Mr. Matt Dempsey, Head Women's Basketball Coach CAPT Peter Kahl, Professor, Marine Engineering CAPT George Edenfield, Head, Department of Marine Transportation CDR Paul Zerafa, Professor, Marine Transportation CDR John Tuttle, Associate Professor, Marine Engineering Dr. Laury Magnus, Professor of English, Deparment of Humanities Mr. Greg Ilaria, Head Wrestling Coach CDR Emil Muccin, Assistant Professor, Marine Transportation